Science Innovation


Continued improvements to health outcomes will rely on innovation. AstraZeneca supports science, technology, engineering and math in an effort to inspire and equip the next generation of scientists with the knowledge and skills to be entrepreneurial problem-solvers.


Ontario Science Centre

The AstraZeneca Human Edge exhibition at the Ontario Science Centre explores the wonders and possibilities of the human body. This exhibition tells the stories of athletes, survival experts, extreme sports enthusiasts and others who have broken through the barriers of what was once thought possible — all while visitors are learning more about their amazing human bodies. The permanent exhibition reveals innovative and exciting science through more than 80 exhibits, providing visitors with immersive, bodies-on experiences and new perspectives on unique artifacts and content.

In addition to tourists and families who travel to the Ontario Science Centre, thousands of school children participate in educational programming in the AstraZeneca Human Edge Hall.

Youth Science Canada

Youth Science Canada (YSF) is the country’s leading organization for engaging and supporting young scientists. YSF is responsible for convening the Canada Wide Science Fair, the largest extra-curricular youth activity related to science and technology in Canada. Each year, 500 of Canada’s best young minds come together to showcase their projects. AstraZeneca is a proud supporter of the “Health Challenge” awards, which recognized the top projects in each age category that focused on solving a health-related problem or question. Recipients of the “Health Challenge” award have explored the effects of colloidal silver on antibiotics fighting e.coli and looked at novel mathematical models for ferromagnetic nanotherapy as a means to cure cancer. We are very proud to support a culture of scientific innovation in Canada and to nurture young people to keeping pushing the boundaries of scientific exploration.

Discovery Days in Science – Presented by AstraZeneca

The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame presents its Discovery Days in Science program at University campuses across Canada, giving secondary school students and teachers the opportunity to explore a variety of career options in medicine and the health sciences sector. For many participants, this experience helps to set them on a path to pursue post-secondary study in the health science sector.  Each year, some of our support is used to ensure students from very remote and rural communities can travel to participate in this event.

The ACT Foundation’s High School Training Program

We have been a proud supporter of the ACT Foundation’s High School CPR Training program since its inception in 1985. The High School CPR program is a leading example of the work community organizations are doing to increase healthcare capabilities in a sustainable way. Available in 80% of the high schools across Canada, the program has trained more than 3.2 million youth. We all know that Cardiac emergencies can happen anywhere, at any time. Once a young person is equipped with the knowledge and skills to respond in this kind of situation, they can save a life.

Earth Rangers

AstraZeneca volunteers have been volunteering with Earth Rangers for years, but recently, we grew our relationship to support the organization’s Mission Science DIY program.  Mission Science DIY encourages Earth Rangers Members and their families to take part in an environmentally-themed science project focused on making their own homemade items. By experimenting with different types of products and chemicals that can be found in the home, Science DIY provides young people with a tangible activity that brings science to life by transforming everyday items into useful household products.

Innovations scientifiques


L’amélioration continue des résultats sur la santé devra miser sur l’innovation. AstraZeneca offre son soutien dans les domaines de la science, de la technologie, de l’ingénierie et des mathématiques dans un effort visant à inspirer la prochaine génération de scientifiques et à lui inculquer des connaissances et des aptitudes sur le plan de la résolution de problèmes.


Centre des sciences de l’Ontario

L’exposition Extrême humain d’AstraZeneca du Centre des sciences de l’Ontario explore les merveilles et les possibilités du corps humain. L’exposition raconte l’histoire d’athlètes, d’experts en survie, d’amateurs de sports extrêmes et d’autres personnes qui ont dépassé les frontières de ce que l’on croyait autrefois impossible – tout cela pendant que les visiteurs en apprennent plus sur leur incroyable corps humain. L’exposition permanente révèle une science novatrice et excitante au moyen de 80 montages qui permettent aux visiteurs de vivre des expériences pratiques captivantes et d’avoir une nouvelle perspective sur des artéfacts et du contenu uniques.

En plus des touristes et des familles qui se rendent au Centre des sciences de l’Ontario, des milliers d’élèves participent à la programmation éducative dans le hall de l’exposition Extrême humain d’AstraZeneca.

Sciences jeunesse Canada

Sciences jeunesse Canada (SJC) est le principal organisme du pays sur le plan de la participation des jeunes scientifiques et du soutien offert à ces jeunes. SJC est responsable de l’organisation de l’expo-sciences pancanadienne, la plus importante activité parascolaire destinée aux jeunes et portant sur la science et la technologie au Canada. Chaque année, 500 des jeunes Canadiens les plus brillants se réunissent pour présenter leurs projets. AstraZeneca appuie fièrement les prix du «défi sur la santé»; ces prix récompensent, pour chaque groupe d’âge, les meilleurs projets visant à résoudre un problème ou à répondre à une question du domaine de la santé. Des récipiendaires des prix du «défi sur la santé» ont exploré les effets de l’argent colloïdal sur les antibiotiques combattant E. coli ou ont évalué de nouveaux modèles mathématiques pour la nanothérapie ferromagnétique en tant que moyen de guérir le cancer. Nous sommes très fiers d’offrir notre soutien à une culture d’innovation scientifique au Canada et d’encourager les jeunes à repousser les frontières de l’exploration scientifique.

Journées Découverte en sciences – Présentées par AstraZeneca

Le Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne présente son programme de «Journées Découverte en sciences» dans les campus universitaires de partout au Canada; ce programme permet aux élèves du secondaire et à leurs enseignants d’explorer une variété d’options de carrières en médecine et dans le secteur des sciences de la santé. Pour de nombreux participants, cette expérience indique la voie à suivre pour faire des études post-secondaires dans le secteur des sciences de la santé. Chaque année, une partie de notre soutien est utilisée pour s’assurer que des jeunes provenant de régions éloignées et de collectivités rurales puissent se déplacer pour participer à cet événement.

Programme de formation pour élèves du secondaire de la Fondation ACT

Nous appuyons fièrement le programme de formation en RCR pour les élèves du secondaire de la Fondation ACT, et ce, depuis sa création en 1985. Le programme de RCR pour les élèves du secondaire est un excellent exemple du travail réalisé par les organismes communautaires en vue d’augmenter les capacités en soins de santé de manière durable. Offert dans plus de 80 % des écoles secondaires de partout au Canada, le programme a permis de former plus de 3,2 millions de jeunes. Nous savons tous que les urgences médicales peuvent survenir n’importe où et à tout moment. Quand une personne détient les connaissances et les compétences requises pour intervenir dans une telle situation, elle est en mesure de sauver une vie.

Éco héros

Les bénévoles d’AstraZeneca collaborent avec les Éco héros depuis plusieurs années, mais récemment, notre relation s’est développée et nous appuyons maintenant le programme de missions de bricolage scientifique de l’organisme. Le programme de missions de bricolage scientifique encourage les membres d’Éco héros et leur famille à participer à un projet scientifique environnemental qui leur permet de réaliser eux-mêmes des bricolages. En permettant d’expérimenter différents types de produits et de substances chimiques qu’ils peuvent trouver chez eux, le programme de bricolage scientifique offre aux jeunes des activités pratiques qui donnent un aspect concret à la science en transformant des objets de la vie courante en produits ménagers utiles.